Introducing BugChat

A new way to post issues on Github repo powerd by AI, recive reports via SDK from your web app

BugChat: Appwrite Hashnode Hackathon

Description of Project

BugChat helps to post very meaningful issues on your Github Repo, and you can use the SDK to receive

I wanted to learn more about using GitHub apps and using OpenAI APIs, also I wanted to enhance my skills in React, and I found this issue through my workflow as I have open-source projects, and sometimes I want to be more descriptive when I create an issue for a contributor to work on it.

this was my motive to create this kinda project, and I will be enhancing the user experience and adding more features, like the SDK reports, and an IssueChat, in which you have a chat for each issue, to allow responding to issues, and create issues as tasks, and manage all issues and tasks as they are one thing within one app

Tech Stack

React, Tailwind, Appwrite

I used React Router to build authenticated routes, and I used Tailwind to speed up my productivity with UIshadcn

I used Github apps to be able to have access to user's repos
I have built an API endpoint for the SDK as I do not want a regular user to interact with Appwrite functions directly

I built three Appwrite functions for
- Github Authentication Key
- OpenAI API consuming
- Creating individual Collection for Users

Appwrite made the Auth easy for me, and the Function help so much, as you don't have to care about how to deploy and have an available endpoint, in the same time it's kinda isolated from your app

Challenges I Faced

I have never used Github apps, which takes time to understand how to authenticate on behalf of a user and create Issues via Github API, and I'm new to React so I faced some issues with Router and how to have authenticated routes.

I learned a lot through this journey and it opened a lot of new ideas to implement.

Public Code Repo

BugChat - repo

BugChat

#Appwrite

#AppwriteHackathon

#hashnode

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Mahmoud Galal by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!